Wow I haven’t written a post in a while!  I was away for two weeks in Canada.  On a whirlwind tour from B.C. for a reunion and ending with a wedding in Kingston.

I had intended to try and put up some posts in there, but I just didn’t manage.  This doesn’t mean the visit lacked good food and fun cooking though.  While in Toronto, my Mom treated us to some pretty tasty dishes and showed me a few of her current favourite recipes.

She made an excellent broccoli salad, which I hope to replicate at some point.  We also made this salsa which we had with salmon.  It was delicious, so I asked Mom if she would write it up so I could post it.

I’ll leave the rest of this post for Mom to present the salsa herself.  I think this salsa could go with many things and can really had a little extra spark to a meal.  If peaches aren’t in season I could easily see nectarines, mangoes or pineapple being good substitution.

*********************************************************************************************************

cont’d by Mom

My beautiful daughter came to our new home in Toronto for a short visit before returning to her beloved Germany where I know her heart is.  I have been trying to eat much more healthy and colorful dishes – my role model of course is my daughter Kelly.  Here is a little healthy and colorful recipe which is very easy to prepare and serves 4 –

2 peaches, peeled, seeded and chopped
1 red pepper, seeded and chopped
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded, deveined and minced
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/2 tsp (2 ml) salt
1/2 tsp (2ml) black pepper
2 tbsp (25 ml) honey
2 tbsp (25 ml) lime juice
4 salmon steaks
2 tbsp olive oil

1.  In a small bowl, combine the peaches, bell pepper, jalapeno, garlic, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper and the honey and lime juice.  Toss to coat well and set aside.

2.  Sprinkle both sides of the salmon with the remaining 1/4 tsp of salt and pepper.  Brush with the olive oil and bake in the oven for about 20 minutes depending on the thickness of the fish at 350 degrees.  Kelly says to wrap in tin foil in order for the fish not to dry out and as is usually the case – she is right.

We made a big salad to accompany with a lemon, olive oil and white sugar dressing.

Bon appetit from Toronto!

