I found myself one day peering in to my very tiny fridge only to see that my leftover cabbage was still overwhelming much of the space.  Even though I had made slaws of all kinds, the head was so large that it was still there.

The thought of making another salad seemed a little disappointing and I figured there must be something else you can do with cabbage in the summer.  I found my answer on Cookbook 101, where Heidi made a Japanese pizza with it.

The idea is to take shredded cabbage and put it in a pancake like batter and then cook it on both sides in a pan.  You can then cut it into wedges and serve it as an appetizer or a side.  I had it for dinner with some greens.

I think this recipe has tremendous potential.  You could do an Alsacian version and put in some bacon and serve it with crème fraiche for instance (like a cabbage Flammkuchen).   I think grated apple, some nuts, curry and a chutney on the side would also be nice.  Ultimately, I think the dish definitely needs a sauce or chutney.  Without the sauce it tastes like a plain pancake.

I mostly followed Heidi’s recipe with a few tweaks.

Okonomiyaki (serves 4 as an appetizer or 1-2 for a main)

adapted from Cookbook 101

  • 2 cups finely shredded cabbage
  • 1 red onion or a few shallots finely chopped (Heidi used leeks)
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • lemon zest
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • olive oil
  • fresh herbs to serve
  • soy sauce, sambal oelek or other sauce of choice on the side

Combine cabbage, oinions, flour, zest and salt and stir until everything is well coated.  Mix in the eggs.

Heat some olive oil in a fry pan (I also added some sesame oil).  When it is medium hot put the mixture in the pan and flatten as a pancake.

Allow to cook until golden brown.  Then slide the pancake onto a plate.  Put another plate on top and flip both together to turn the pancake over.  Add a bit more oil to the pan.  Now slide the pancake back in the pan.  Cook this side until lightly browned.

Cut into wedges and serve with herbs, sauces and other condiments of choice.

