I made chocolate chip cookies the other day and realized that I had waited for too long.  What could possibly be better than the smell of fresh cookies from the oven?

There are tons of chocolate chip cookie recipes out there and most are probably really good.  Afterall, you can’t really go wrong with butter, sugar and chocolate.  This recipe though is special to me because it is really the first recipe I remember making.

It comes from my Mom’s Betty Crocker’s Cooky book.  We used to make a lot of recipes from that book especially at Christmas.  It is one of these special old cookbooks with pages falling out and stains marking favourite recipes.  The chocolate chip recipe was a “blue ribbon” recipe and we used to make them all year round.

I don’t know how old I was when we started making them, but the recipe became almost a rite of passage for me into the cooking and baking world.  I can remember gradually being able to do more and more of the recipe by myself.  I was particularly proud when I was finally able to crack the egg myself.

The egg was always so exciting!  You had to hold it right and break it on the right surface and then smoothly open the two sides to release the inner surprise of the white and yolk.

Over the years I made the recipe again and again.  I’ve made it for a lot of people and a lot of occasions.  One summer I worked at a warehouse and brought these cookies in at least once month.  I always got rave reviews.

Which recipe do you remember as being your “first”?

Chocolate Chip Cookies

from Betty Crocker

  • 2/3 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup nuts, chopped (we always use walnuts) (optional)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (use good quality!)

Preheat the oven to 375*F.  Cream together butter and sugars.  Mix in egg and vanilla.  In another bowl mix remaining ingredients.  Incorporate the two bowls together.

Resist the urge to eat too much cookie dough, but I recommend at least tasting it :).

Take small balls of dough (about 1-2 tsp.) and press onto cookie sheet.  Depending on how big you like them, give them enough space as they will spread.  I prefer the small ones.

Once the oven is ready, put the sheet in and now be careful.  If you like your cookies soft and chewy like I do, take them out after 7 minutes.  Do not wait longer!  If you like crispier cookies, wait a little longer.  In the top photo you can see that the cookies at the back are crispier and the ones in the front are chewier.  The ones in the front are the 7 minute kind.  If I am making these for a group, I tend to make batches of different times in order to please everyone’s cookie needs.

When you take them off the cookie sheet they will be very soft, so use a spatula.  They will quickly harden up a bit though.

This recipe easily makes about 3 dozen, so if you don’t want so many cookies, just freeze some of the dough.  Then you can have fresh cookies any time.

