I love coleslaw, but I have to admit I am pretty picky about it.  I really can’t stand soggy, mayo-laden slaws that taste more like a bowl of cream with cabbage floating in it than anything else.  Rather, I like fresh, crisp slaws featuring citrus and fresh herbs.  Two of my favourites are a mango-mint slaw from Smitten Kitchen (shown above) and a peanut-lime slaw from Cookbook 101.  They are both similar in that they feature lime juice and I think one could easily adapt either slaw using features from the other.  I definitely recommend both them!  I have already enjoyed them a few times this summer.

Recently though I decided to spread my slaw horizons by trying something other than a citrusy slaw.  I put together a recipe where the cabbage is bathed in mustard-maple dressing and apple, bacon and nuts are added for extra texture and crunch. Some might consider this slaw a bit wintery, but I assure you it is tasty in summer too.  I think it would pair very well with a good grilled burger. I really enjoyed it and I hope you do as well.

Maple Mustard Slaw

  • 3 cups of chopped cabbage
  • 1 crisp, red apple chopped and sprinkled liberally with lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts or pecans (toasted)
  • 4 strips of bacon cooked and crumbled
  • 1Tbsp mustard
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 minced shallot
  • salt and pepper

Make dressing by shaking together the mustard, syrup, oil, shallot and salt and pepper.  Toss well with apple and cabbage.  Allow to sit for 30 min in the fridge to soften the cabbage.  Just before serving add in your bacon and nuts.

