I love simple meals that feature fresh ingredients. Usually when I am cooking just for myself, I poke around my fridge and pull out a few veggies and then I ask myself what I can make with them.  This recipe came from an evening when I found tomatoes and zucchini and also happened to have feta and olives.

This is a variation on the classic pasta puttanesca recipe.  It is easy to alter to suit yourself and is much lighter than the traditional version.  Rather than pasta you use strands of zuchinni.  The strands can be achieved with a mandoline or a vegetable peeler.  Don’t overcook the zucchini or you might find it mushy.

Zucchini Puttanesca

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • a few cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 large tomatoes peeled and chopped (dunk into boiling water to ease peeling)
  • 1 large zucchini
  • black olives pitted and chopped
  • cubed feta
  • fresh or dried herbs (basil & oregano)
  • a pinch of red pepper flakes
  • chopped anchovies (optional)
  • parmesan (optional)
  • olive oil

Heat some olive oil in large frying pan.  Saute the onion until translucent and then add the garlic and red pepper flakes.  Continue to saute a minute or two and then add the zucchini strands and the chopped tomatoes.  Add the anchovies at this point if you want them and if you are using dried herbs add them now as well.

Allow it to cook until the zucchini strands are tender.  Mix in the olives, feta and fresh herbs.  Sprinkle with parmesan if you like and enjoy!

