Often I like to bake my salmon.  I wrap it in foil to keep it moist with some lemon and oregano.  Tonight I felt like a change though.  I wanted something spicy and bold!  This recipe makes a spicy, slightly sweet salmon.  The key here is to get your pan super hot so that it will make a nice crust.

I served it up with some zuchinni cut into matchsticks and sauteed with olive oil, lemon zest, salt and pepper and some parsley.  I think it would also pair well with some stir fried noodles and mixed veggies.

Spicy Crusted Salmon (serves 1  but can easily be multiplied to serve more)

  • 1 salmon filet
  • 1 Tbsp cooking oil (one that allows for a high temperature, I used sunflower)
  • 1 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • salt and pepper
  • spice mix ( I used: cumin, cloves, cinnamon, fennel, cinnamon, ginger and dried orange peel)

Mix the sugar and all spices together.  I did this in my mortar and pestle.

Coat your salmon filet thoroughly with the mixture.  This forms your crust, so it should go on thick!

Heat your pan with the oil.  Let this get really hot.  Do not put the salmon in too soon – you want that pan smoking hot!  Put your salmon in it spice side down.  It will sputter and smoke, but let it cook a minute or two.  Then turn it over skin side down.

Let it cook until it is done to your liking.  I like mine not quite cooked all the way through.  It is super tasty and the possibilities are endless depending on what spices you choose to mix together.  I think a hot paprika could be nice or even a mix with curry.  Let me know what sorts of mixes you come up with.

You may have noticed that the theme of the blog has changed.  This is thanks to the blogging tips from my friend Leonard over at Ileo.  I hope you like the new set up.

