First off, apologies for my clear obsession with vegetable matter and please trust me that chocolate, meat and other less healthy fodder are part of my diet and I will certainly share some good recipes for these things too.

However, Easter is approaching and that means that all sorts of bunnies will be out and about.  What better way to celebrate Easter then to eat rabbit food right?  I know, I know you are dying for chocolate, but trust me this salad is delicious and full of fresh flavour and you might enjoy it even more than a chocolate bunny or at least as much.

This salad has sort of an Asian flair with a vinaigrette that features lime, ginger, a lot of cilantro and sesame oil.  Cilantro can be hard to find in Germany and Europe in general.  Your best bet is an Asian shop or market.  If you can’t get it, go for some basil (like thai basil) or even mint.  If you use a different herb you might want to adjust the amount depending on how strong the flavour is.

Carrot Salad with Cilantro Vinaigrette

  • one large bag of fresh carrots (go for the good kind, not the big woody ones)
  • 1/2c. of chopped fresh cilantro
  • juice and zest of one lime
  • 2 Tbsp of grated fresh ginger (or more)
  • 1 Tbsp. sesame oil
  • 2 tsp. honey
  • a few good glugs of olive oil
  • 1/4 c. toasted sesame seeds

Peel and thinly slice your carrots.  Make sure they are thinly sliced, so that they can soften a bit with the dressing.  You could also dunk them in boiling water for 30 sec. to 1 min. and then directly into a cold water bath.  This will soften them a bit too.  I didn’t bother, because I like them crunchy.

Mix all the vinaigrette ingredients together, except the sesame seeds, and toss with your carrots.  You might also want to add a bit salt and pepper or even some hot chilis like a chopped jalapeneo.  Let me know if you try this and how it works.  Let it all sit together for a while so that the flavours can blend.

Toss in your toasted seeds right before serving and enjoy!  I can feel my bunny ears growing already!

