My purple (or almost pink) hyacinthe is blooming right now and as a result my apartment just smells lovely.  I had some leftover red cabbage in my fridge the other day and somehow these two things inspired me to make a purple salad.

I happened to have a beautiful blood orange from Italy and I knew I was on to something with my purple theme.  This salad is easily adaptable depending on what you have.

Purple Cabbage Salad

  • 3-4 cups of thinly sliced red cabbage
  • 1 or 2 blood oranges depending on their size
  • 1/2 c. walnuts
  • 1 Tbsp. walnut oil
  • some glugs of olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper

Remove peel, slice your oranges and put in a bowl with the cabbage and remaining ingredients except for the walnuts.  Let sit for at least 30 minutes in order to allow the cabbage to soften and absorb the dressing.  Chop your walnuts and toast them either in the oven or on a pan (be careful that they don’t burn).  Just before serving toss in the nuts.

I think you could add some red onion to this salad or a chopped shallot.  Some crumbled feta might also be nice or some fresh herbs.  See what you have in the fridge and dress it up as you like.

