As I child, whenever I would go to my grandmother’s for a celebration, I always looked forward to her cheese straws.  They were cheesy, spicy and buttery.  They are the kind of thing you wish wasn’t so good so you wouldn’t eat so many.

I never tried making them myself until today.  I wanted to bring a snack to a party tonight, to celebrate two wonderful women who got their PhDs just recently (Congratulations Ros & Cassie!!).  I flipped through my recipe cards and came across Gramsy’s recipe and I thought I would share it with you.

Be warned – they are addictive!

Cheese Straws

  • 2 cups grated old cheddar cheese
  • 2 tsp. dry mustard (see note)
  • a good pinch of cayenne (more if you like it spicy)
  • 1 clove of garlic minced (optional)
  • 1/2 c. of butter
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 c. flour
  • 1/4 c. very cold water

Heat oven to 300*F.  Mix all the ingredients except water thoroughly.

Gradually stir in the cold water. Cold water is important because you don’t want to soften the butter too much.  You want little flecks of butter.  As with any pastry, if you are having trouble with it, pop it in the fridge for a bit.

Roll out on a floured surface and cut into stripes with a knife.  Place on a parchment lined cookie sheet.  Bake until lightly brown (15-20 minutes).  Let them cool on the sheet.  Enjoy!

Notes:

I didn’t have dry mustard, but I had mustard seeds, which I crushed with a mortar and pestle.  I think 1 tsp. of dijon could be used as well.

Feel free to change up the spices and flavours here.  Maybe pepper or cumin?

