granola3

Although I am an early riser, I would hardly describe myself as a “happy” riser.  Most mornings I prefer not to think much and simply reach out for coffee and granola.  If I utter a “good morning” consider yourself lucky.

There is one thing however that can put a spring in my step in the morning and that is my Mom’s granola.  You can imagine how happy I was when yesterday I got big box in the mail with six containers of granola.  My Mom is an awesome woman!

There are a lot of granola recipes out there.  There are the super sweet kind and there are the ones that take oil.  This is a lighter version, but it certainly doesn’t lack flavour.  My Mom has been making it for years and I swear every time I taste it gets better.

My Mom wrote out the basic recipe for me, which I will share, but I’ve put a lot of notes at the end.  She has tweaked it over time and there are lots of variations.  I’ve made it a number times too, but somehow it never seems quite as good as Mom’s.  Play with it and make it your own.  I hope you enjoy it!

spoon

My Mom’s Granola

  • 5 cups of oat flakes (Mom uses a mixture of different kinds)
  • 1 cup of wheat germ
  • 3/4 cup of chopped almonds
  • 1/3 cup of apple juice
  • 1/3 cup of honey
  • 3 cups of mixture of fruit & nuts (see notes)

Preheat oven to 325*F.  Mix the oat flakes, wheat germ and almonds together.  Heat apple juice in a pot on medium heat.  Add the honey and mix until dissolved.  Add to oat mixture and stir well.  Spread the oat mixture on a large baking sheet.  Bake for at least 30 minutes.  Stir periodically to make sure the oats all get nutty and golden.  Cool and add your fruit and nut mixture.

Fruit & Nut Mixture

Mom usually makes two batches with the following combinations:

Combo 1:

  • 1/2 cup each of sunflower seeds, brazil nuts, hazelnuts and walnuts
  • 1/2 cup each of dates, figs and dark raisins

Combo 2:

  • 1/2 cup each of pumpkin seeds, cashews, pistachios and pecans
  • 1/2 cup each of apricots, cranberries and golden raisions

Add Ins

Mom also adds some seeds including flax seeds, millet, sesame seeds or poppy seeds.

You can also add spices like cinnamon, nutmeg or ground ginger.

Tips

  • Buying the dried fruit and nuts at a bulk store will greatly reduce the costs
  • The recipe is worth doubling, but bake it in two batches so that all the oats can get crisp
  • For a crunchier granola increase the amount of honey & apple juice, but not too much or it will be too wet
  • Store in a sealed container and, if you are keeping it a long time, put it in the freezer

Mom&MeThanks Mom!  You made my morning!

