This weekend was probably a pretty busy one for most people.  Everyone was finishing up shopping and setting up the house for Christmas.  Like most years I tried to make a few edible gifts for family and friends.  Hopefully, they won’t read this before the big day!

I made a big batch of spice nuts (four pounds!) using the excellent recipe from Sassy Radish.  I also made Sparkling Ginger cookies from Cookbook 101.  I love these cookies, becomes the ginger really comes through.

Naturally, I also wanted to make some old family favourites.  I did up a batch of Rum & Raisin Cookies and Chocolate Crinkles.  Both turned out delicious.  I am eager to share them with everyone, but for now I’ll share one of the recipes with you.

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies (6 dozen)

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 sq. unsweetened chocolate
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup icing sugar

Melt chocolate.  Stir in oil and granulated sugar.  Blend in one egg at a time until well-mixed.  Add vanilla.

Sift flour, baking powder and salt into oil/chocolate mix.  Stir together.  Let chill in the fridge several hours or overnight.

Heat oven to 350*F.  Take teaspoon-sized balls of dough and roll in the icing sugar.  Shape into balls and press lightly on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Make sure to give the cookies a bit of space.  Bake for 10 minutes and be careful not to overbake.

This recipe makes a whopping 6 dozen cookies so be prepared to hand the out to family & friends.

Happy Holidays!!

